Board of Directors

Our board of directors, starting with Bill our chairman.

Mr Bill Scales AO – Chair

Bill was appointed to the Board of Directors in 2014. For over 50 years, he has held executive, governance, and management positions in business, industry and government and the not for profit sector.

Bill is currently a Member of the Veolia Australia and New Zealand Advisory Board; A Member of the Australian Catholic Bishop’s Conference; Commission for Administration and Information and Chair of the National Education Advisory Committee of the Australian Institute of Company Directors’ (AICD).  Bill also consults to Australian Governments on a range of public policy and matters of public administration.

Over the past six years, Bill has been involved a panel member on a number of important public inquiries and reviews. In 2010, he was appointed by the Australian Government as a member of the expert panel to conduct the Review of Funding for Schooling, better known as the ‘Gonski Review’. In 2008, he was appointed to the panel to review Australia’s Higher Education Sector, also known as the ‘Bradley Review’, and subsequently to the Reference Group advising the Government on regulation for the Higher Education Sector.

In 1993, Bill was made an Officer of the Order of Australia for his services to industry and in 2003 he was awarded the Centenary Medal for outstanding service to Business and Commerce.  He is a Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia, and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mr Tom Carr

Tom is responsible for the human resources function for the Archdiocese of Melbourne. Prior to joining the Archdiocese, he occupied senior positions in the Victorian government, principally undertaking employment policy and workplace relations roles.

He is Chair of the Tarrawarra Advisory Group, a group which supports the Cistercian monastic community at Tarrawarra and is a member of Mannix College Council, the governing body of the Catholic residential college at Monash University.

Ms Anna Clarke

Anna was appointed to the Board of Directors in 2013 and is currently the national Director of Human Resources, Private Hospitals Division, St Vincent’s Health Australia. She has held a number of roles in private and public health including Director of HR & Workforce Development, Director of Nursing, and Manager of Organisational/Service development.

Anna has served for a number of years on the Board of the Caroline Chisholm Centre for Health Ethics and has a particular interest in the areas of workforce strategy and organisational development.

Initially qualified as a nurse, Anna also holds post graduate qualifications in Critical Care Nursing, and Adult Education and a Masters in Health Administration.

Ms Brigid Clarke

Brigid was appointed to the Board of Directors in 2010 and is a Senior Public Servant working for the Victorian Department of Health. Brigid has over 25 years’ experience in the public health sector and specific expertise in systems governance and quality and risk management. Brigid has a particular interest in stewardship and service to the Catholic community.

Brigid trained as a social worker and holds a Masters Degree in Social Work.

Ms Belinda Evans

Belinda was appointed to the Board of Directors in 2014 and is the Senior Advocate at Elder Rights Advocacy, Melbourne with significant experience in the aged care and disability/mental health sectors.

"Belinda is a member of the Law Institute of Victoria, the General Committee of the Institute’s Elder Law Section, and until recently was a Board Member of Disability Justice Advocacy Inc.  She has also been a member of Reference Groups/Steering Committees of a number of projects relating to aged care and elder abuse issues."

Mr Peter Gill

Peter was appointed to the Board of Directors in 2009 and holds qualifications in Civil engineering, Town Planning and Valuations, Peter is also a Licensed Real Estate Agent with over 40 years’ experience as a Commercial Property Agent. He has acted for major corporations, religious orders, the Archdiocese and developers on multi-site sales and leases.

Peter also offers specialist property consultancy services, is a member of the Victorian Chapter of the Australian Catholic University and a director of the Centre of Palliative Care Foundation. Peter has recently retired as a Committee member of Eastern Palliative Care.

Mr Richard Gray AM

Richard was appointed to the Board of Directors in 2014 has extensive experience of some 27 years in the disability and aged care sectors. Richard is currently the Senior Aged Care Advisor – Aged Care Services for Catholic Health Australia.

Richard has previously held the roles of CEO of the Spastic Society of Victoria, the National Executive Director of Aged Care Australia (now ACSA) and Board Director of ACROD Ltd (now NDS).  In 2006 Federal Cabinet appointed him to the Board of Directors of the Aged Care Standards and Accreditation Agency Ltd.

Mr Peter Hogan

Peter was appointed to the Board of Directors in 2014 and is a Chartered Accountant and was a Partner with PriceWaterhouseCoopers for 17 years before retiring from that practice in 2008.

Peter is now a Strategy & Development director with Incitec Pivot Limited, a public company listed on the ASX and is a non-executive director of Fabchem China Limited, a public company listed on the Singapore Stock Exchange.

Mr Terry Janes

Terry was appointed to the Board of Directors in 2013 and is the former CFO and Executive Director of leading staffing services company Skilled Group Limited (1998 - 2012). Terry has over 20 years' experience in a range of senior finance roles, including Senior Divisional Finance Officer for major operating divisions in the minerals and steel businesses of BHP.

Terry holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Melbourne, is a Fellow of the AICD and a Fellow of the Australian Society of CPA’s. He is also a graduate of the Wharton Advanced Management Program 2008.

Mr Michael Meere

Michael was appointed to the Board of Directors in 2014 and has 40 years’ experience in management positions and consultancy roles in both private and not-for-profit organisations.

Michael has been a CEO of a National Industry Association and was a Director of Yooralla.  He is a Life Member of the Preshil: The Margaret Lyttle Memorial School Association. He currently lectures in Swinburne University’s MBA program.

Dr Ro Saxon

Ro was appointed to the Board of Directors in 2014 and has 30 years’ experience in the health and community services industry, including 10 years with the Victoria State Government and 20 years in management consulting.

Ro has worked with many organisations and has extensive experience in the research, planning, management, development and evaluation of government funded health, aged care and disability services.

Mr Michael Tehan

Michael was appointed to the Board of Directors in 2010. He is a lawyer who practices as a mediator in commercial disputes.

Between 1987 and 2014, Michael was a solicitor and partner with an international law firm, Minter Ellison, where he practiced in industrial and employment law, discrimination law and administrative law, leading a team of more than 20 lawyers.

He has Arts and Law degrees from the University of Melbourne and the Company Directors Diploma from the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Share page:

Contact us